Winning the Penguin Ireland/RTÉ Guide Short Story Competition

'Hanging Valleys' as published in the RTE Guide

'Hanging Valleys' as published in the RTE Guide

I heard a few weeks ago that I was lucky enough to have won the Penguin Ireland/ RTÉ Guide Short Story Competition, a respectable result given that I’ve subsequently heard there were upwards of 3,000 entries this year.

As you can see to the left, my story ‘Hanging Valleys’ was published in the RTÉ Guide at the end of August. Now though, it’s also been available to read online at this link (though I note the section breaks have been omitted, leaving two abrupt changes of scene in the story you may have to mentally adjust to. But, hey, these things happen!).

Shamefully, there isn’t a single spaceship in the story, something I do feel bad about (!), but that aside I’m pleased to see it out there. Fun fact, I’ve been shopping around this piece for the last three years, albeit it a version which was over twice as long as this (5,500 words as opposed to 2,000). I’m usually quite opposed to the restrictive 2,000-3,000 word limits common in the Irish fiction market, but in this case it turned out to be very helpful in editing the story down to the absolute essentials… and then a little bit further.

One Response to Winning the Penguin Ireland/RTÉ Guide Short Story Competition

  1. Pingback: Thoughts on the Penguin Ireland Publishing Workshop « illusory promise

